Panchayat poll candidate killed, voting for fourth phase | patna | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Panchayat poll candidate killed, voting for fourth phase

patna Updated: May 01, 2011 13:53 IST
panchayat polls in Bihar

Voting for the fourth phase of panchayat polls in Bihar was held on Sunday under the shadow of the gunning down of a candidate late on Saturday night in Vishanpur village in Khagaria district.

District Superintendent of police Mitthu Prasad said raids were being carried out to apprehend the killers of Ranjeet Singh, who was contesting for the post of 'mukhia'.

In Munger district, security forces removed banners and posters put up by Maoists at several places calling for boycott of panchayat polls, police said, adding additional security personnel, including CRPF, have been deployed in the affected areas to ensure peaceful poll.

In East Champaran district, police fired two rounds in the air to disperse a group of villagers after they clashed with the police at polling centres under Bheriari panchayat, Superintendent of Police Ganesh Kumar said, adding no one was injured in the incident.

Meanwhile, four persons, including two candidates for zilla parishads were arrested for trying to lure voters with money and about Rs 90000 seized from them during the day.

Official sources said the arrests and the seizure of money were made in Madhubani and Nawada districts.

A Zilla Parishad candidate Sitayam Yadav was arrested and Rs 55,956 seized from him near a polling station under Bisfi panchayat in Madhubani district while he was trying to influence voters with money, Superintendent of Police Saurav Kumar said.

In a similar incident in Nawada district, police arrested a Zila Parishad candidate Arun Prasad and his two associates and seized Rs 34,000 from them while they were trying to lure voters with money.

Elections are being held for 27,928 panchayat seats in 62 blocks, 19 of which are Maoist affected. A total of 12,416 polling stations have been set up to enable about 53 lakh voters to exercise their franchise.