Polling begins for third phase in Bihar elections | patna | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Polling begins for third phase in Bihar elections

patna Updated: Oct 28, 2010 08:45 IST
Highlight Story

Polling began on Thursday morning for 48 constituencies in the third phase of the assembly elections in Bihar amidst tight security.

An electorate of 1.03 crore, including 47.56 lakh women, are eligible to vote for 785 candidates, including 65 women.

Prominent politicians in the fray in this phase are Leader of the Opposition and former chief minister Rabri Devi, who is contesting from Raghopur in Vaishali district and Sonepur in Saran district.

Others key contestants are state JD(U) ministers Brishen Patel (Vaishali) and Vyasdeo Prasad (Siwan), Gautam Singh (Manjhi), besides BJP ministers Renu Devi (Bettiah), Ramchandra Sahni (Sugauli) and Rampravesh Rai (Barauli).

RJD is contesting 35 seats and its ally LJP 13.

The ruling JD(U) and BJP are contesting 24 seats each, while CPI has fielded candidates in 10, CPI-M in five and CPI-ML (Liberation) in 16.

Congress is in the fray in all 48 seats. BSP is also contesting in a number of constituencies.

Borders with Nepal and Uttar Pradesh have been sealed with Bihar police and DIG and Commissioner of Saran division along with special task force commandos keeping surveillance from the air, Director General of Police Neelmani said.

Of the constituencies, Ramnagar, Raghopur, Patepur and Valmikinagar have been identified as Maoist-hit where polling will be held between 7:00 am to 3:00 pm.

The constituencies are spread over East and West Champaran, Gopalganj, Siwan, Saran and Vaishali districts.