11 declared unopposed winners in Shahkot nagar panchayat | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

11 declared unopposed winners in Shahkot nagar panchayat

punjab Updated: May 31, 2012 00:20 IST
HT Correspondent

Eleven candidates have been elected unopposed to the Shahkot nagar panchayat, as the Congress has boycotted these polls to protest against alleged threats and arm-twisting from the SAD-BJP ruling combine.

Sub-divisional magistrate Shahkot TN Passi said that Congress candidates had filed their nominations from all the 13 wards in the panchayat. However, they failed to submit the authority letters from the party.

"All 13 Congress candidates withdrew their nomination papers, paving the way for unopposed win of 11 candidates. These include seven BJP and four SAD candidates. The independents who had filed the nominations from these wards also withdrew their papers," said Passi.

Polls would now be held only in two wards number 8 and 9. An independent candidate is in the fray SAD-BJP candidates, here.

Hardev Singh Peeta, president, Shahkot block Congress, alleged that Congress nominees received threats from SAD-BJP leaders asking them to withdraw candidature.

Transport minister Ajit Singh Kohar, MLA from Shahkot, refuted the Congress' charges. "There is no question of threatening the Congress candidates. Why was the issue not raised before? The Congress withdrew candidates fearing heavy losses," he said.