15 in fray for Patiala, Talwandi Sabo seats in Punjab

  • PTI, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Aug 04, 2014 22:12 IST

A total of 15 candidates will contest the August 21 bypolls for Patiala and Talwandi Sabo assembly seats after their nomination papers were found valid on Monday during scrutiny, Punjab chief electoral officer (CEO) VK Singh said.

After scrutiny, the nomination papers of eight candidates for Patiala and seven for Talwandi Sabo were found valid, the CEO said.

From Patiala, Bhagwan Dass (Shiromani Akali Dal), Preneet Kaur (Indian National Congress), Harjeet Singh (Aam Aadmi Party), Amrik Singh (New All India Congress Party), Ravi Kant (Hindusthan Nirman Dal), Balbir Singh (Independent), Balwinder Singh (Independent) and Rajinder Singh Pawar (Independent) are in the fray now.

From Talwandi Sabo Assembly seat, the papers of Jeet Mohinder Singh (Shiromani Akali Dal), Harminder Singh Jassi (Indian National Congress), Baljinder Kaur (Aam Aadmi Party), Makhan Singh Premi (Punjab Labour Party), Balkar Singh (Independent), Balwinder Singh (Independent) and Bharpur Singh (Independent) were found valid.

VK Singh further said the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is August 6.

Bypoll to Patiala and Talwandi Sabo Assembly seats will be held on August 21 followed by counting on August 25.

The Patiala assembly seat was vacated by Amarinder Singh after he was elected to Lok Sabha from Amritsar, defeating BJP stalwart Arun Jaitley.

Talwandi Sabo seat fell vacant after sitting Congress MLA Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu deserted the party to join ruling SAD.

also read

Poll panel raises questions on Punjab govt’s ‘achievement booklet’
Show comments