27 in poll fray from Patiala, 19 from Fatehgarh Sahib | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

27 in poll fray from Patiala, 19 from Fatehgarh Sahib

punjab Updated: Apr 10, 2014 00:16 IST

As many as 27 candidates from different national and regional parties have filed their nomination papers from the Patiala parliamentary. Twelve candidates submitted their nomination on Wednesday, the last day for submitting nominations. Deputy commissioner Priyank Bharti, said that now officials would closely scrutinise the claims made by the candidates during nomination process.

The scrutinisation process would conclude on April 10 .He said the candidates who have filed their nomination can take back their nomination papers till April 12.

Harinder Singh Khalsa, former ambassador to Norway and former MP filed his nomination as Aam Adami Party (AAP) nominee before district returning officer Arun Sekhri at the administrative complex, Fatehgarh Sahib on Thursday.

Nine candidates have filed their nominations on Wednesday, taking the total number of candidates in the fray to 19.
Khalsa said that he had joined SAD and won the election from Bathinda in 1996 but he left the party when he realized that party was not following its principles.

Blaming SAD for promoting dynastic politics, he added that the party had failed to give respect to its supporters and now a family was running SAD.

Appreciating the efforts made by convener of AAP, Arvind Kejriwal, Khalsa said that the party had already proved its mettle in New Delhi by forming its government.

He also said the party wanted to uproot corruption from the system which had polluted the system.
Khalsa said that he had joined the party because the party belonged to common man and it was against the VIP culture being followed by other political parties.

Meanwhile, other candidates who filed their nomination papers as independents candidates include Avtar Singh, Ranjit Singh, Manpreet Singh and Lachman Singh.

Gurdeep Singh of the Inqlab Vikas party, Lakhbir Singh of the J&K National Panthers Party, Harpreet Singh of the Bhaujan Mukti Party and Iqbal Singh of the Republican Party of India also filed their nomination.

27 in poll battle from Sangrur
A total of 27 candidates, including nine independents, have filed their nominations from the Sangrur parliamentary constituency.
Talking to Hindustan times, Sangrur deputy commissioner cum-returning officer Kavita Singh, said 10 candidates filed their papers on Wednesday.

The candidates who filed the nominations on Wednesday include Bant Singh of the CPI (M), Jaswant Singh of the Bahujan Mukti Party, Sukhdev Ram Sharma of the CPI.

The scrutiny will take place on April 10 and the withdrawal of nominations is allowed till April 12.

In Sangrur, which is witnessing a triangular contest among Vijay Inder Singla of Congress, Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa of SAD and Bhagwant Mann of AAP, about 14.23 lakh voters, would cast their votes at 1241 polling booths, from 7 am to 6 pm on April 30.