4 more office-bearers of PPCC resign | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2016-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

4 more office-bearers of PPCC resign

punjab Updated: Jan 02, 2014 21:56 IST
Surinder Maan
Surinder Maan
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Lashing out at Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) president Partap Singh Bajwa, four newly appointed executive committee members of the PPCC, including a state secretary, have resigned from the committee.

These leaders announced here on Thursday that they would boycott the state-level meeting called by Bajwa in Chandigarh on January 6.

Newly appointed PPCC secretary Jagdarshan Kaur Dharamkot, who was removed from the post of president of the District Congress Committee (DCC), Moga, recently; former MLA Vijay Sathi; ex-DCC president Col Babu Singh; and SGPC member Sukhjeet Singh Kaka Lohgarh; whose names were included in the jumbo-sized executive committee, alleged that Bajwa had tried to dampen the morale of the senior Congress leaders across the state.

The four leaders have faxed their resignation letters to Congress president Sonia Gandhi, vice-president Rahul Gandhi and to the PPCC office in Chandigarh. "We will soon approach Sonia Gandhi asking for "reconstituting the PPCC that smacked of favouritism".

The leaders said there was no need for the party high command to change former PPCC president Capt Amarinder Singh after the Moga by-election as it was only Amarinder who had fought bravely against the Akalis during the by-election.

They alleged, "Bajwa has appointed someone who has always worked against the party policies as the district president"

Sathi said, "I am infuriated that Bajwa has chosen to include persons who had worked against me during the Moga by-election in the committee."

"If Bajwa fails to review the list and did not remove the name of Darshan Singh Brar from the post of the DCC president immediately, we would not support him," the leaders said.

Prominent among those present on the occasion included former DCC Moga president Tara Singh Sandhu and DCC member Inderjeet Singh Bir Chrik.

When contacted, Darshan Singh Brar said, "I am a local leader who had worked hard in the Moga by-election. As I have been appointed the DCC president, I will do my best for the Congress in the area. I do not bother about such leaders who are issuing baseless statements against the state Congress president."