84 file nominations for 23 ZP zones in Gurdaspur | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

84 file nominations for 23 ZP zones in Gurdaspur

punjab Updated: May 08, 2013 22:03 IST
HT Correspondent

A total of 84 candidates have filed nomination for 23 zones of zila parishad whereas 672 persons have submitted their papers for seats in 11 block samitis in the district.

Deputy commissioner-cum-district electoral officer Abhinav Trikha said here on Wednesday that 34 candidates of the Congress, 35 of the Shiromani Akali Dal, five of the BJP, four of the CPI, four Independents and two of the People's Party of Punjab had filed their nominations for 23 zones.

Trikha said that the candidates could withdraw their nominations by May 9. He told that election symbols would be allotted to the eligible candidates on May 9. Polling would be held on May 19 and counting on May 21.

Meanwhile, Gurdaspur SSP Sukhwant Singh Gill said on Wednesday that effective steps would soon be taken to resolve traffic problems in the district.

Meanwhile, the Gurdaspur SSP also said that all security arrangements had been made regarding the May 19 elections for 23 zila parishad zones and 11 block samitis in all six blocks of Kahnuwan, Dinanagar, Kalanaur, Dorangla, Dhariwal and Gurdaspur in Gurdaspur police district.

He said that 206 of the total 443 polling stations in the district had been declared "sensitive".

Gurdaspur block had the highest number (46) of sensitive polling stations, followed by Dinanagar (42), Kalanaur (40), Kahnuwan (39), Dhariwal (32) and Dorangla (8).

The SSP said that 23 police patrol teams had been pressed into service, with each covering 20 polling stations.