HindustanTimes Sat,27 Dec 2014

20 file nominations on Day-4

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Amritsar, April 07, 2014
First Published: 22:27 IST(7/4/2014) | Last Updated: 22:28 IST(7/4/2014)

BJP candidate Arun Jaitley, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) candidate Ranjit Singh Brahmpura, Simranjit Singh Mann of SAD (Amritsar) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Sucha Singh Chhotepur were among 20 candidates who filed their nomination papers for the three border constituencies of Amritsar, Gurdaspur and Khadoor Sahib on Monday, the fourth day of filing nominations for the April 30 Lok Sabha polls.


While eight nominations were received for the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, six each were received for the Khadoor Sahib and Gurdaspur constituencies.

With this, the total number of nominations received for the three constituencies rose to 33.

Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley was among the eight candidates who filed their nominations from the Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency on Monday.

The others who filed their papers were Amarjit Singh Asal (CPI), Kawaljit Singh (Ambedkar Party of India), Yusuf Mohammed of the Samajwadi Party (SP), Rattan Singh Randhawa (CPI-ML), Buta Singh (BSP-Ambedkar), Rehmat Masih (Ind) and Bal Kishan (Ind).

Congress candidate Captain Amarinder Singh, AAP's Dr Daljit Singh and BSP's Pradeep Walia are among the seven who have already filed their papers from this constituency.

Veteran SAD leader Ranjit Singh Brahmpura and former MP Simranjit Singh Mann of SAD (Amritsar) were among the six candidates to filed their nominations from the Khadoor Sahib constituency.

The others who filed their papers were Balwant Singh (BSP), Balwinder Singh (CPI-ML), Gurnam Singh (Ind) and Mahinder Singh (Ind).

The total number of nominations in this constituency has now gone to ten.

Former Punjab minister and AAP candidate Sucha Singh Chhotepur was among the six candidates to file their nomination papers from Gurdaspur.

The others were Sukhwinder Singh (BSP) and Kulwant Singh (covering candidate of BSP), Gurmit Singh (CPI-ML), Varinder Singh (CPI) and Peter Masih (Ind).

During the first three days, only two nominations, that of Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) chief Partap singh Bajwa and his MLA wife Charanjit Kaur Bajwa (covering candidate) were received for this seat.

The last date of nominations is April 9. Scrutiny will take place on April 10 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is April 12.

No nominations will be received on Tuesday, which is a holiday on account of Ram Navami.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Amritsar

3 bonded labourers rescued from dargah of self-styled baba

The Valtoha police rescued three bonded laboures confined in inhumane condition at the dargah of a self-styled preacher, Dilbaag Singh, at Bhadur Nagar (Valtoha village) in Tarn Taran district.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved