HindustanTimes Fri,26 Dec 2014

Battlelines drawn for GNDU teachers' association poll

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Amritsar, November 28, 2012
First Published: 21:04 IST(28/11/2012) | Last Updated: 21:07 IST(28/11/2012)

Battlelines have been drawn between the group owing allegiance to vice-chancellor Ajaib Singh Brar and the rival group in the annual elections to the office-bearers of Guru Nanak Dev University Teachers Association (GNDUTA) scheduled for December 5.


The elections will be held on the same day on the local GNDU campus and at the regional campuses as well as in the university colleges governed directly by GNDU. The regional campuses are those at Jalandhar, Gurdaspur, Sathiala and Mukandpur. The GNDU colleges are the ones at Chung, Narot Jaimal Singh, Niari, Verka and Mithra.

It will be a direct contest for all five posts of GNDUTA and the six-member executive. For the post of president, Prof Devinder Singh of the department of psychology is pitted against Prof DS Sogi from the department of food sciences, who belongs to the pro-VC group.

Others in Prof Devinder Singh's team are Prof Amarjit Singh Sudan from the department of botanical and environmental sciences for the post of vice-president, Prof Lakhwinder Singh from the department of commerce and business management (secretary),

Prof MPS Saini from the physics department (joint secretary) and Prof RSS Kaler from the food sciences department for the post of treasurer.

Those contesting for the membership of the executive from this team are Vinay Kapur (laws), Gursharanjit Singh (Guru Nanak Studies), Surinderapl Singh (maths), Harmit Singh (political science), Rajinder Sandhu (political science) and Balwinder Singh (commerce and business management).

Those of Prof Sogi's team are Prof Azia Abbas from the department of Urdu for the vice-president's post, Prof Daraya from the School of Punjabi Studies (secretary), Prof Mohan Kumar from the foreign languages department (joint secretary) and Shymal Koley from the department of sports medicine for the post of treasurer.

The contenders for the executive membership from this team are Prof Vikram (commerce and business management), Prof Suhinderjit Singh (School of Punjabi Studies) , Prof Manjit Singh (Regional Campus, Jalandhar, electronics department),  Prof Balmeet Singh (food sciences), Prof RS Virk (department of computer sciences) and Prof Dalbir Singh (Sanskrit department).

A total of 378 electors will decide the fate of the candidates. Prof Rajinder Kaur Pawar, dean, academic affairs, is the returning officer. The results will be declared on the same day of the polling.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Amritsar

Tourism police to become operational by December end in Amritsar

Right at the end of 2014, the Amritsar police commissionerate is all set to launch a ‘tourism police’ service with an aim to make tourists flocking to the city from across the country and the globe in big numbers safe and secure.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved