Bajwa faces opposition from Cong leaders in his home turf | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bajwa faces opposition from Cong leaders in his home turf

punjab Updated: Oct 02, 2014 22:49 IST
Kamaljit Singh Kamal
Kamaljit Singh Kamal
Hindustan Times

Punjab Congress Committee president Partap Singh Bajwa is facing strong opposition from some of the party leaders in his home turf.

Three party MLAs, namely Tripat Rajinder Singh Bajwa of Fatehgarh Churian, Ashwani Sekhri of Batala and Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa of Dera Baba Nanak, were among those who attended a lunch hosted by Rajya Sabha MP Ashwani Kumar at his residence here on Thursday.

Dr Ashwani Kumar had invited the party MLAs and leaders from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency for lunch on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti, but the occasion turned out to be meeting of the leaders of anti-Bajwa camp.

The two other Congress MLAs from Gurdaspur parliamentary constituency, namely Aruna Chaudhary of Dinanagar and Charanjit Kaur Bajwa of Qadian, Bajwa's wife, did not attend the lunch hosted by former union minister.

Speaking to the media,Tripat Rajinder Singh Bajwa said that during his tenure as Gurdaspur MP from 2009 to 2014, Partap Singh Bajwa virtually destroyed the Congress set up in the district. He said that ex-MP Bajwa distributed almost all his MPLAD scheme fund in the assembly constituency of Qadian, represented by his wife, but stilll he trailed from this assembly segment by over 18,000 votes in the May Lok sabha elections.

All India Congress Committee secretary and Batala MLA Ashwani Sekhri said that Bajwa was violating the directions of the party high command regarding keeping the party leaders united.

District Congress Committee president and Dera Baba Nanak MLA Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa said that under the leadership of Bajwa, the Congress had no say in the Punjab Vidhan Sabha nor in the public.

These leaders said that the state Congress needed a stronger leadership which could be provided by Capt Amarinder Singh only.

Raman Bahl, who unsuccessfully contested the 2012 assembly polls from Gurdaspur; former Pathankot zila parishad chairman Chaudhary Rajbir and Balbir Chand Fatehpuri were also present.