Bajwa, Gujral among four from Punjab to take RS oath

  • Agencies, New Delhi
  • Updated: Apr 27, 2016 15:51 IST
(left to right) Partap Singh Bajwa, Naresh Gujral, SS Dhullo and Shwet Malik. (HT Photo)

Congress’ Partap Singh Bajwa and Shiromani Akali Dal’s Naresh Gujral were among the four members from Punjab to take the Rajya Sabha oath in New Delhi on Monday. A total of 9 members took the RS oath.

Others from Punjab to take oath include Congress’ Shamsher Singh Dullo and Bharatiya Janata Patry’s Shwet Malik.

Bajwa was accommodated in the Upper House by the party after Amarinder Singh was made head of Punjab Congress. Bajwa sweared in the name of God in English.

Others who took oath include senior Congress leader Anand Sharma, recently re-elected from Himachal Pradesh, Ripun Bora and Ranee Narah (Congress) from Assam, K Somaprasad (CPI-M) from Kerala, Jharna Das Baidya (CPI-M), from Tripura.

also read

CM inaugurates heritage street in Amritsar, terms it ‘sewa’ at guru’s abode
Show comments