Subhash Barala gets second term as Haryana BJP president | punjab$regional-takes | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Subhash Barala gets second term as Haryana BJP president

punjab Updated: Jan 03, 2016 12:12 IST
Neeraj Mohan
Neeraj Mohan
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Subhash Barala seeking blessings of Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar after the election in Rohtak on Saturday.(HT file photo)

As expected, the Haryana BJP has reposed faith in Subhash Barala by re-electing him the president of the state unit for the second time for three years.

Barala was elected unopposed and the announcement was made by MP from Mandi in Himachal Pradesh, Ram Swaroop Sharma, who was the election observer. According to Sharma, presidents of 14 districts and in-charges of all 90 assembly constituencies participated in the election.

The BJP also unanimously elected 10 national council members — Ram Bilas Sharma, Anil Vij, Sudha Yadav, Prof Ganeshi Lal, Om Prakash Dhankar, Capt Abhimanyu, Ram Chandra Bainda, Krishan Bedi, Jai Naryana Khundiya and Ramesh Kashyap.

Subhash Barala, 48, who is an MLA from Tohana, had been appointed as the president of the party in November last year after the then president Ram Bilas Sharma became a cabinet minister in the Manohar Lal Khattar government.

The re-appointment of the first-time MLA and party’s Jat face is being considered as a balancing act by the BJP to strengthen its cadre in the Jat dominated districts. However, other Jat minister Capt Abhimanyu and OP Dhankar were not present at the function here.

Addressing the gathering, Barala assured the party leadership that he would work to strengthen the party base and cadre. “I am sure our workers will continue their struggle to make Haryana the top state in the country,” he said.