Barnala council chief elected unanimously

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Barnala
  • Updated: Mar 11, 2015 10:10 IST

Sanjeev Shorey, district president (urban) of the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) was elected president while Raghubir Parkash Garg of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) vice-president of the municipal council (MC) of Barnala unanimously on Tuesday. It is a great time for the SAD as presidents of all the four municipal councils of Barnala, Dhanaula, Tapa Mandi and Bhadaur in the district belong to it.

The president and vice-president of Barnala council got elected with the unanimous support of the SAD, the BJP, the Congress and Independents.

Congress councillor Mahesh Kumar Lota said, “I proposed the name of Sanjeev Shorey for election as president of the council. It was seconded by Manju Sharma of the Bharatiya Janata Party.”

Industrialist and SAD general secretary Rajinder Gupta played the mascot of a people-friendly, issue-based paradigm of development and transparency. All parties and Independents had accosted the voters with the developmental palliative, but the SAD, with numbers on its side and with unflinching image of Gupta, did a clean sweep with its candidate getting elected unanimously.

also read

Punjab govt releases 6% DA for employees, pensioners
Show comments