HindustanTimes Fri,22 Aug 2014

All 14 followers of Dera Sacha Sauda acquitted

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Moga, March 28, 2014
First Published: 23:52 IST(28/3/2014) | Last Updated: 23:54 IST(28/3/2014)

District and sessions judge GS Bakshi on Friday acquitted all the fourteen followers of the Sirsa-based Dera Sacha Sauda, who were booked by the police for burning public properties and an attempt to murder case on February 27, 2010.


The acquitted included ex-sarpanch Harnek Singh, Rajesh Kumar, Ravinder Kumar, Sukhdev Singh, Hari Singh, sarpanch Darshan Singh, Piara Singh, all residents of Mari Mustfa village under Baghapurana sub-division, Malkit Singh, Baldev Singh of Samadh Bhai village, Raldu Singh, Jagtar Singh, both of Vairoke village, Roop Singh of Tharaj village, Wazir Singh of Baghapurana, Parveen Kumar and Prem Kumar of Smalsar village in district Moga.

Ex-sarpanch Harnek Singh of Mari Mustfa died in jail in July 2010. According to the police record, the police had registered a case against all the dera followers under Sections 307, 436, 427, 353, 148, 149 of Indian Penal Code and 25, 27, 54 and 59 of Arms Act at Baghapurana police station.

After hearing arguments from police and defence, the court acquitted all in the attempt to murder case and other charges.

Senior members of the 25-member committee of the dera, who reached here from various areas of Punjab garlanded the freed dera followers.

“The court decision shows that the police  implicated dera followers in false cases and now justice has been done,” said committee members.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

more from Bathinda

Within a year, 'rehris' back on Clock Tower road in Faridkot

Though the district administration had, a year ago, banned vegetable and fruit 'rehris' on the Clock Tower road, known as Thandi sadak, and shifted them to the Sadak chowk road, vacating the space for parking and smooth flow of traffic, yet many 'rehris' have again come back to the old site again.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved