HindustanTimes Wed,24 Sep 2014

Farmers block roads against power cuts

Surinder Maan, Hindustan Times  Moga, June 21, 2014
First Published: 08:40 IST(21/6/2014) | Last Updated: 08:50 IST(21/6/2014)

Three days after activists of various farmer and labourer organisations blocked traffic in several villages including Badhni Kalan and Lopo towns in this district to protest against long and unannounced power cuts during the paddy transplantation season, hundreds of residents from Wadha Ghar, Chhota Ghar, Thathi Bhai, Smalsar, Jeeta SIngh Wala, Kotla-Rai-Ka, Sangatpura, Mari Mustfa, Maur-Nau-Abad and Samadh Bhai villages of Moga district blocked the traffic for four hours near Baghapurana at the Mudkia-Barnala state highway and staged a protests outside various power grid stations on Friday.

Angry people raised antiSAD-BJP government slogans and warned that if the Punjab State Power Corporation Limited (PSPCL) fails to provide regular power supply for the agriculture sector for 8 hours, residents of 65 villages under the Baghapurana subdivision would start an indefinite agitation outside the main power grids across the district.

Villagers were angry over acute power shortage and feared that they would suffer huge losses if the authorities did not act and streamline the power supply.

Addressing the protesters, exsarpanch Tirlok Singh, youth leader Aatma Singh, panch Gurprem Singh, panch Ajmer Singh, panch Jagbir Singh and co-operative society president Sukhmandar Singh said the state government had failed to provide electricity for the agriculture sector as promised during the assembly elections.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

more from Bathinda

Ex-BJP chief among 4 booked for abetment to suicide

The Kotkapura police of Faridkot district have booked four persons, including Parveen Kumar Gupta, former president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), on the complaint of Poonam Sharma, wife of Amit Prakash Sharma who died on Sunday.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved