Bindra, Heena set eyes on securing Olympic berths in World C’ship | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bindra, Heena set eyes on securing Olympic berths in World C’ship

punjab Updated: Jul 16, 2014 11:31 IST

Ace shooter Abhinav Bindra will be leading the Indian shooters challenge in the ISSF World Championships to be held at Granada, Spain, from September 6 to 20. The tournament is significant as 64 quota places for the 2016 Rio Olympics are up for grabs.

Bindra, who is India’s only individual Olympic gold medallist, will be competing in men’s 10m air rifle event alongside Haryana’s Sanjeev Rajput and Ravi Kumar of Air Force.

However, India’s ace trap shooter Ronjan Sodhi yet again missed out on a berth in the Indian shooting squad for the championship, and Gagan Narang also failed to make the 10m air rifle team. Narang though will be competing in two other events -- rifle 3 position and rifle prone.

Sodhi, the former world no 1 double trap shooter, has been going through a lean patch lately and had recently skipped the World Cup in Beijing. He is also not a part of the squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Games. Another regional shooter in fray is world champion in air pistol, Heena Sidhu. She will be leading the challenge in the women's section along with Rahi Sarnobat, Lajja Gauswami, Anisa Sayeed, and Shagun Chowdhary.

In the standard pistol Commonwealth Games medallist Samresh Jung of Himachal Pradesh, will represent the country along with Mahaveer Singh and Gurpreet Singh.

In the rapid fire pistol event 2012 London Olympics silver medallist Vijay Kumar, Harpreet Singh and Gurpreet Singh will represent the country. Vijay is also part of the team for the centre fire pistol event alongside Pemba Tamang and Gurpreet Singh. In the trap events another Punjab shooter and World Cup gold medallist Manavjit Sandhu will be leading the country’s challenge.

The others in trap events are Kynan Chenai and R Prithviraj Tondaiman. Ankur Mittal, Mohd Asab and Sangram Dahiya will represent India in the men's double trap.