BJP announcement of three district presidents fumes party workers | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP announcement of three district presidents fumes party workers

punjab Updated: Sep 12, 2013 16:40 IST
Sanjeev Bhalla

Though the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) has announced the names of new presidents for its Jalandhar (Urban), Kapurthala and Mukerian units after a long delay, it did not seem to reduce the resentment in the party.

Aggrieved leaders had been keeping mum to save themselves from party's disciplinary action but it would certainly dent the party's prospective in the forthcoming parliamentary elections, party sources revealed.

The party on Wednesday declared Subhash Sood from Jalandhar (Urban), Parshottam Passi as Kapurthala and Iqbal Singh Rana from Mukerian as district presidents.

At Jalandhar, Ravi Mahindru and former president Shiv Dayal Chugh were the contender for the post, election for which was held in November last year. Both challenged the elections on technical issues due to which the election was postponed. Mahindru had also filed his appeal to then incharge of state affairs Thawar Chand Gahlot. He had submitted its report on the matter within stipulated period of 30 days but the report was not made public.

To take care of party affairs, Subhash Sood was handed over the responsibility and on Wednesday, he was formally declared as the official president of the Jalandhar (urban).

The roots of party differences in the city can be traced in the contention of both BJP titans of the city KD Bhandari and Manoranjan Kalia. Candidature of Chugh was backed by Bhandari while Mahindru enjoyed Kalia's patronage. Mahindru had to suffer twice for his association with Kalia.

“Earlier, he was denied the mayor-ship and now they had not considered him for the party's face of the district for which he was elected democratically. This is just to stimulate factionalism in the party and the state president should have tried to solve this keeping in view the wider prospective,” a BJP leader said.

In Kapurthala, the party had dissolved its district unit due to public outburst by party leaders against each other. Showing inability to handle the situations, then President Tejasavi Bhardwaj rendered his resignation.

Both Bhardwaj and Phagwara MLA and chief parliamentary secretary Som Parkash belong to Phagwara and reportedly, their intention to retain their supremacy in the party functioning created problems within the party. Virtually, two separated units of party were found running from Phagwara.

As expected, the party had shifted the president-ship to Kapurthala this time to avoid direct confrontation. Vice president of Kapurthala Municipal Council Parshottam Passi has been declared as new district president of the party.

At Mukerian also party appointed a relatively new face Iqbal Singh Rana as the new president from this rural district. The tussle for the party post was reportedly going between the groups belonging to former MLA Arunesh Shakir and incharge of district Veeran Wali.

“We have never seen the new president in the functions of parties even. Everyone is surprised that who party had chosen him for this prestigious post. Several dedicated party leaders were also there who are feeling ignored,” a zone incharge from Mukerian said.