BJP wins Talwara nagar panchayat election | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP wins Talwara nagar panchayat election

punjab Updated: Mar 17, 2013 21:09 IST
HT Correspondent

The BJP has won the Talwara nagar panchayat elections by winning seven of the 15 seats. The SAD and the Congress wrested one seat each. The People's Party of Punjab (PPP) received a pleasanr surprise when its candidate emerged victorous from ward number 8. At least four candidates, who were backed by Bhakhra Beas Management Board (BBMB) employees union, also won the elections.

The otherwise peaceful election was marred by a violent incident at the polling booth in Sector 1 Government Senior Secondary School, where some unidentified persons who allegedly owed allegiance to the BJP, roughed up independent candidate Anita Kumari's husband and employee union leader Ashok Kumar. The unruly elements also bashed up a local reporter and snatched his camera. A case has been registered against the miscreants.

BJP candidates Dhruv Singh, Santosh Kumari, Ichchha Devi, Deepak Dua, Naresh Thakur, Dev Raj and Amandeep Happy were victorious from ward no 2,4,7,11,13,14 and 15, respectively.

SAD nominee Amarpal Singh won from ward no 12. Joginder Pal Chhinda of Congress won from ward no 5 and PPP's Taranjit Singh Bobby won from ward no 8. Independents Usha Rani, Parminder Singh, Kulwant Kaur Saini and Kashmira Singh won from ward no1,9,10 and 6, respectively. Rebel BJP candidate Nand Kishore Puri defeated his own party candidate in ward no 3.