Booted out, 18 CPSes not to hoist Tricolour on I-Day

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Aug 14, 2016 12:29 IST
The decision was taken by chief minister Parkash Singh Badal on Saturday evening. (Representative image)

The 18 chief parliamentary secretaries, booted out of the government through an order of the Punjab and Haryana high court on Friday, will not be hoisting the national flag during the Independence Day functions across the state where they were the chief guests.

The decision was taken by chief minister Parkash Singh Badal on Saturday evening. Other than the chief minister, deputy CM Sukhbir Singh Badal and cabinet ministers, chief parliamentary secretaries were to hoist the Tricolour at district and sub-division-level functions. At places where the CPSes were to hoist the flag, the senior-most civil officer will do the honours now.

Must read| HC quashes appointment of CPSes in Punjab, says it violates Constitution

The high court had quashed appointment of 18 CPSes) in the SAD-BJP government of Punjab, ruling that they are acting as “junior ministers” in contravention of the Constitution’s intent to limit the council of ministers to 15% of the legislature’s strength.

One of the petitioners, who filed a public interest litigation (PIL), HC Arora wrote to the chief secretary that the CPS should stop discharging their functions.

Read more: Punjab govt to file appeal in apex court against HC ruling on CPSes

“I would like to make it abundantly clear that unless they get some interim order in their favour from the Supreme Court, discharge of functions of the post by any of them, including hoisting of the Tricolour in their capacity as CPSes, shall amount to the contempt of court,” stated Arora’s letter.

While Chaudhary Nand Lal was to hoist the flag at Balachaur, Sant Balbir Singh Ghunas at Barnala, Des Raj Dhugga at Sri Gobindpur, Mantar Singh Brar at Faridkot, Mohinder Kaur Josh at SBS Nagar, KD Bhandari at Phillaur, Amarpal Singh Ajnala at Ajnala, Gurbachan Singh Babbehali at Pathankot, Virsa Singh Valtoha at Shri Khadoor Sahib, NK Sharma at Derabassi, F Nasira Khatoon at Malerkotla, Navjot Kaur Sidhu at Shahkot, Parkash Chand Garg at Sunam, Pawan Kumar Tinnu at Adampur, Sarup Chand Singla at Shri Mukatsar Sahib and Som Parkash at Phagwara.

also read

Punjab MLA report card: Ashwani from Pathankot, Babbehali from Gurdaspur
Show comments