Capt Amarinder favours reservation for economically weaker upper castes | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 19, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Capt Amarinder favours reservation for economically weaker upper castes

punjab Updated: Apr 20, 2014 20:01 IST

Former chief minister and Congress candidate from Amritsar Capt Amarinder Singh on Sunday favoured the reservation in jobs and educational institutions for the members of the economically weaker sections among the upper castes.

Responding to the demands put forward by the Shri Brahman Sabha Punjab here on Sunday, Capt Amarinder supported their demand that the economically weaker sections from the upper castes should also be provided benefits of reservation along with others.

The former Chief Minister agreed that there were a large number of people belonging to the upper castes who were not able to make ends meet. I know many such people who have been left behind and such people should also get the reservation benefit along with others as otherwise their talent and abilities will remain unutilised?, he said, while addressing a function of the Brahman Sabha here on Sunday.

The Congress leader lauded the contribution of the community towards the society. He pointed out; the community still continues to serve the society teaching the moral and cultural values besides guiding everybody along the moral path. ?You have always been an integral part of the society and you will continue to remain so and the society and the government owe a credit to you?, he told the members of the community amidst thundering applause.

Earlier the president of the Sabha, Devi Dayal Prashar reiterated the support of the community to Capt Amarinder Singh. He also put forward some demands including the benefit of reservation for economically weaker upper castes.

He said, the Brahman Sabha was the representative of 40 lakh Brahmins living in Punjab and has been serving the society for last 50 years.

Prominent among those present included Bihari Lal Saddi, Chandrel Shekhar, Surinderpal Sharma, Ashwani Sharma, Jasbir Dimpa, Sunil Datti, Ashwani Pappu and Dinesh Bassi.