CEO visits counting centres in Bathinda, inspects arrangements for March 11 | punjab$bhatinda | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

CEO visits counting centres in Bathinda, inspects arrangements for March 11

punjab Updated: Mar 09, 2017 16:18 IST
HT Correspondent
vote Counting

Punjab chief electoral officer VK Singhduring his visit to a counting centre in Bathinda district on Wednesday.(HT Photo)

 Punjab’s chief electoral officer (CEO) VK Singh on Wednesday visited all six counting centre of the district to take stock of arrangements and preparations for counting of votes to be held on March 11. 

Accompanied by additional director general of police-cum-nodal officer, VK Bhawra, Singh took a round all counting centres in the premises of the PESCO, Institute of Hotel Management and Central University. 

Singh said that counting will be done under videography including transfer of electronic voting machines from strongrooms to counting hall as all counting centres will have CCTV cameras. 

After reviewing the arrangements, Singh said that counting would begin at 8 am, where candidates and counting agents could witness the entire process. 

“Except election observers, no one will be allowed to take mobile phones inside counting centres. Even candidates and counting agents will not be allowed to take along their mobile phones inside the centres. There would be separate sitting arrangements for candidates,” he said. 

Meanwhile, deputy commissioner Ghanshyam Thori said that the staff deputed for counting would remain present from 7 am so that counting could be started as per schedule. 

“The round-wise information of counting would be announced. The election commission has also deputed election observers and they will also remain present at different counting centres,” he said. 

Thori added that P Senthil Kumar will be observer of Rampura Phul, Diwakar Nath Mishra for Bathinda Urban, Anil Kumar for Talwandi Sabo, Sanjay Kumar Jain for Bhucho Mandi, Vinay Nigam for Bathinda Rural and Roohi Khan for Maur constituency. 

The counting for Rampura Phul and Bathinda Urban will take place in the IHM premises, while the counting for Bhucho Mandi and Bathinda Rural will be held in PESCO and Talwandi Sabo and Maur polling counting at the Central University complex.