HindustanTimes Sat,27 Dec 2014

23 candidates in fray after scrutiny of nominations

Hindustan Times  Ludhiana, April 10, 2014
First Published: 22:34 IST(10/4/2014) | Last Updated: 22:36 IST(10/4/2014)

After the scrutinising nominations, 23 candidates' nominations were announced valid for the Lok Sabha elections, on Thursday.


The scrutiny process to inspect the nominations was held at the office of the deputy commissioner.

A total of 26 candidates and four covering candidates had filed nominations of which seven nominations, including four from covering candidates, were rejected.

The nominated candidates of recognised national and state political parties are Sukhwinder Singh Sekhon (Communist Party of India-Marxist), Navjot Singh Mandair (Bahujan Samaj Party), Manpreet Singh Ayali (Shiromani Akali Dal) and Ravneet Singh Bittu (Indian National Congress).

The nominated candidates of registered unrecognised political parties are Akshaybar Nath Mistra (Janta Dal-United), Harvinder Singh Phoolka (Aam Aadmi Party), Hari Ram Sahni (All India Forward Bloc), Kishan Kumar Sharma (J&K National Panthers Party), Darshan Singh (Shiv Sena), Mohd Naseem Ansari (New All India Congress Party), Bittu (Republic Party of India-A) and Mohammad Mansood Ansari (Bahujan Mukti Party).

The nominated independent candidates are Simerjit Singh, Simarjit Singh Bains, Kulwinder Pal Singh, Gurdeep Singh Kahlon, Jaswinder Singh Bains, Jai Parkash Jain, Tarsem Singh, Navpreet Singh Bedi, Balwinder Singh, Raj Kumar Atwal and Rajiv Kumar Kalra.

Deputy commissioner Rajat Agarwal said the nominations of Rajinder Singh (independent), Premjit Kaur (who declared herself a SAD candidate), Manjit Singh Mahal (All India Trinamool Congress), Jasvir Kaur Mander (Bahujan Samaj Party), Harbir Singh (SAD), Gurkirat Singh (Indian National Congress) and Amarjit Mattu (CPM) were cancelled.

A total of 44 nominations were received. Some candidates had filed multiple nominations as one candidate could file four nominations.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

City lads in quarters

The boys team of hosts Chandigarh beat Rajasthan 3-0 in their last league encounter to enter the quarterfinals of the 41st Junior National Volleyball Championship, being organised at Shivalik Public School, Sector 41, and Sector-7 Sports Complex, on Friday.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved