HindustanTimes Wed,22 Oct 2014

9 people charged with murder of Mohali advocate Amarpreet Singh

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times  SAS Nagar, November 06, 2013
First Published: 23:18 IST(6/11/2013) | Last Updated: 23:20 IST(6/11/2013)

The court of additional and sessions judge Manjot Kaur, on Wednesday, framed charges against nine accused in the murder of SAS Nagar-based advocate Amarpreet Singh, who was killed on February 27 this year.


The accused will be tried together in court from December 4.

The charges were framed under Sections 302 (murder), 307 (attempt to murder), 336 (endangering life or personal safety of others), 120B (criminal conspiracy), 148 (rioting, armed with deadly weapon), 149 (every member of unlawful assembly guilty of offence committed in prosecution of common object), 506 (criminal intimidation) and 427 of the Indian Penal Code, against all nine accused namely: Jaswinder Singh, Harwinder Singh, Rajat Sharma, Sunil Bhanot, Kewin Sushant, Vishal Sherawat, Onkar Singh, Sanbir Singh and Deepak Kaushal.

Some other charges were also framed against six accused Jaswinder Singh, Harwinder Singh, Rajat Sharma, Sunil Bhanot, Kewin Sushant and Vishal Sherawat.

Along with the above mentioned charges these six were also charged under Section-25 of the Indian Arms Act while Dharmendra Singh was also charged with section 465 (punishment for forgery), 468 (Forgery for purpose of cheating) and 471 (Using a forged document as genuine) of the IPC.

On February 27, advocate Amarpreet Singh was shot dead outside his house in Phase-3B-1, SAS Nagar, over a petty issue of parking.

The accused were staying in a paying guest near Amarpreet's house. Before the crime an altercation took place between Amarpreet and the accused after which the accused allegedly shot Amarpreet Singh and his cousin who was seriously injured.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

CM chair eludes Ahirwal again despite full mandate

The chief minister’s chair has yet again eluded prominent leaders of Ahirwal region in spite of BJP candidates winning all 11 assembly constituencies under it.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved