HindustanTimes Fri,19 Dec 2014

Chandigarh Beopar Mandal elections on Feb 21

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, February 12, 2014
First Published: 00:36 IST(12/2/2014) | Last Updated: 00:38 IST(12/2/2014)

The Chandigarh Beopar Mandal (CBM) is all set to hold its elections for the post of president on February 21.


In the general body meeting of the mandal that was held on February 7, where besides discussing other things, the upcoming elections of the mandal were also announced.

During the meeting, the accounts for the year 2013 were approved by the house unanimously. Later, Charanjiv Singh submitted his resignation as president to the chairman and dissolved his executive body as his tenure had expired.

Charanjiv said the CBM was now well recognised body of traders having a representation at the administrator advisory council, vat advisory committee, labour welfare board, direct taxes advisory committee and other related bodies. It had maintained proper liaison with different departments of the Chandigarh administration, municipal corporation and political parties.

CBM chairman Sat Pal Gupta requested him to work as the acting president till the election of new president.

Gupta later announced the schedule for the elections and maintained that they want that the president should be elected unanimously as in previous years.

Speaking to HT, Gupta said, “We want that the president should be elected with consensus. However, if there is a difference of opinion, the voting is open to all members and they have their right to elect and vote for whom they want.”

Meanwhile, there is a wave among members who say that they are discontented over the functioning of mandal and want to have elections for the post of president.

Four file nominations

Four leaders who represent different market welfare associations have filed their nominations for the post of Chandigarh Beopar Mandal president. They are Charanjiv Singh from Sector 22, Naveen Gupta from Sector 21, Ravi Prakash Kansal from Grain Market, Sector 26, and Kailash Chand Jain from Sector 34.

Schedule for elections
Filing nominations: Feb 10 to 12 from 11am to 1pm at Satsang Bhawan, Grain Market, Sector 26
Scrutiny: Feb 13
Withdrawal of nominations: Feb 14
Voting: Feb 21 from 9am to 3pm at Aggarsen Bhawan, Sector 30,Chandigarh

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

PGI doctor awarded for new surgical technique

Dr Jaspreet Sukhija, assistant professor, Advanced Eye Centre, PGIMER, has been conferred on The prestigious Prof Hanumantha Reddy Award was conferred on Dr Jaspreet Sukhija, assistant professor, Advanced Eye Centre, Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER), at a recently-concluded annual conference of the Society of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus at Pushkar, Rajasthan.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved