HindustanTimes Sun,21 Dec 2014

Cong sets up committee to examine poll debacle in Punjab

PTI  New Delhi, May 27, 2014
First Published: 16:36 IST(27/5/2014) | Last Updated: 16:40 IST(27/5/2014)
Congress constituted a committee under former CWC member Dhaniram Shandilya to examine why it failed to get the expected results in the Lok Sabha polls in Punjab, the party's first exercise to set its house in order after the poll debacle.

Haryana Minister Chaudhary Aftab Ahmed is the Vice-Chairman of the Committee which has Subhash Chopra, former Delhi Assembly Speaker and party MLAs from Delhi--Jaikishen and Devendra Yadav--as its members, AICC General Secretary Shakeel Ahmed told PTI.

With the committee consisting of all members from outside the state, Punjab PCC General Secretary Lakhvinder Garcha will assist it. The panel has been asked to submit its report within a month.

The results in Punjab as also in several other states have come as a huge disappointment to the party. Congress chief Sonia Gandhi has already hinted at revamping the organisation, including making structural changes.

Of the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, AAP took four, ruling SAD won four and its ally BJP bagged two. Congress won only three seats. In the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, Congress had picked up eight seats while SAD had taken four while BJP had won only one seat.

The only solace for Congress in the state was from the Amritsar constituency, where former Chief Minister and party nominee Amarinder Singh defeated Arun Jaitley, despite SAD backing him to the hilt.
comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

OMG! MSG is finally here

For once, Salman bhai must be having sleepless nights, and Shahrukh Khan must already be counting his days in the industry. PK or no PK, Aamir ‘sincere’ Khan would probably be the only Khan of the troika who would somehow find a way to remain in the industry despite this tsunami. Even Rajinikanth must be mulling retirement after all.Writes Aarish Chhabra
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved