HindustanTimes Tue,21 Oct 2014

Delhi University's call on student politics

HT Correspomdent, Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, August 10, 2014
First Published: 20:16 IST(10/8/2014) | Last Updated: 20:20 IST(10/8/2014)

Delhi University (DU) chief election officer (CEO) DS Rawat, on student council polls in the university said that in the past, the Delhi University Students Union polls also witnessed violence and violations by the student political parties, but in the recent three-four years, they had been able to conduct elections in a peaceful manner.


"It was probably in 2009 or 2010, when most candidates were disqualified by election committee for violations and those who got elected came anonymously. Since then, the student parties have realised that if they were found violating the poll code, their candidates would be disqualified. Hence, no major violations are reported," Rawat added.

"We have installed CCTVs in our colleges and at the north campus to keep a check on the student activities. We have also appointed videographers teams to check the violations. There is also a Defacement Act in place, due to which FIR is registered automatically", he said.

"I do not recall in recent years that we got a complaint from any college, where teacher had to sit outside as students were campaigning or they barged into classes. They are not allowed to enter the classroom if the teacher is present. Only those candidates and their supporters enter campuses, who have I-cards displayed and no outsiders are allowed. If some outsider is seen, they are handed over to the police.

Most importantly, apart from Lyngdoh guidelines, we have our own guidelines in place to book violators.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

RSS ideologue ML Khattar to be new Haryana chief minister

A first time contestant and a first time legislator, Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS) ideologue, Manohar Lal Khattar (60) was on Tuesday chosen as the leader of the BJP legislature group in Haryana assembly and thereby will be the next chief minister of Haryana.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved