HindustanTimes Mon,22 Sep 2014

Form awareness groups in 'expenditure sensitive' areas:EC

PTI  Chandigarh, March 28, 2014
First Published: 19:47 IST(28/3/2014) | Last Updated: 19:49 IST(28/3/2014)

The Election Commission has revised the amount of ex-gratia payment to kin of polling personnel who die or sustain injuries in the line of duty, and directed all Chief Electoral Officers to form village- and ward-level awareness groups in "expenditure sensitive" areas.
Punjab Additional Chief Electoral Officers Raminder Singh and B Purushartha today said as per the revised slabs Rs. 10 lakh will be the minimum amount to be paid to kin of a poll official who dies during election duty.
The amount will be Rs. 20 lakh if the poll official is killed in a violent incident such as ambush, landmine blast or bomb blast.
In case any official deployed for election duty suffers permanent disability, including severing of limb or loss of eyesight, he or she will be provided with a minimum ex-gratia of Rs. 5 lakh. If the disability is a result of terror strike or violent incident, the minimum amount would be Rs. 10 lakh.
They said the village- and ward-level awareness groups would be formed at polling stations of each "expenditure sensitive" pockets to be identified by the sector officers and police officers based on the past experience.
The aim behind the formation of these awareness groups was to spread the message of ethical voting among voters and to abstain from any inducement like cash, gift, liquor or community feast organised for campaign purpose.
Meanwhile, as many as 1,71,634 licenced arms have been deposited from across the state. The general elections to 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab will take place on April 30.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

more from Chandigarh

Haryana polls: BSP's Arvind Sharma to contest from Yamunanagar and Rai

Bahujan Samaj Party's (BSP) chief ministerial candidate Arvind Sharma to contest from Yamunanagar and Rai assembly constituencies. Party announces nine more candidates.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved