HindustanTimes Wed,22 Oct 2014

Karnal man's suicide: accused's arrest demanded

HT Correspondent  KARNAL, February 10, 2014
First Published: 19:45 IST(10/2/2014) | Last Updated: 23:09 IST(10/2/2014)

Alleging shoddy police investigation in the suicide of 23-year-old Akhil Chauhan, several members of the Ror community staged a protest at the mini-secretariat here and demand the arrest of the accused in the case on Monday.


On Sunday also, the family and community members had refused to cremate the body until the accused were arrested. The protesters on Monday served an ultimatum to the district administration, demanding the arrest of all nine accused by February 15 or they would launch an agitation.

On Saturday night, Akhil had committed suicide by consuming a poisonous substance. He died on Sunday morning.

In the suicide note allegedly written by him, Akhil had had named 10 persons, including his newlywed wife, her parents, relatives and four policemen, including an Indian Police Service (IPS) officer.

The IPS officer, a superintendent of police in an adjoining district, has not been booked, while nine persons have been charged with abetment to suicide.

Police said the family had not named the IPS in their police complaint. The aggrieved family members and relatives are alleging that Akhil's wife had lodged two false complaints and the policemen from her community had been harassing Akhil on the pretext of a police investigation.

In an FIR registered last month, the girl had accused Akhil and his family of fabricating a marriage certificate, kidnapping and forceful submission of marriage in the court. In another case lodged last month, she had charged her "husband" of stalking and sexual harassment.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

CM chair eludes Ahirwal again despite full mandate

The chief minister’s chair has yet again eluded prominent leaders of Ahirwal region in spite of BJP candidates winning all 11 assembly constituencies under it.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved