HindustanTimes Tue,21 Oct 2014

Locomotive art

Navleen Lakhi, Hindustan Times   April 20, 2013
First Published: 09:47 IST(20/4/2013) | Last Updated: 18:43 IST(20/4/2013)

When two photographers bring forth a photography exhibition called From Earth to Sky, it’s not just about 58 large and 20-odd small photographs — it’s about the journey one takes through the 19 railway stations on the Kalka-Shimla route. Exhibiting their love for locomotives are photographers Sanjay Kaushal and Shubh Mohan Singh.

Starting the journey from Kalka, the two have covered the beauty of stations Taksalm Gumman, Koti, Jabli, Sonwara, Dharampur, Kumarhati Dagshai, Barog, Solan, Salogra, Kandaghat, Kanoh, Kaihli Ghat, Shoghi, Taradevi, Jutogh, Summer Hill and Shimla. A psychiatrist by profession, Chandigarh-based Singh has been into photography for the past 14 years. “Only amateurish work had been done so far on the theme we chose. So, we decided to take it up and dedicated the past two years to it,” says he.

The photographs have been captured during various trips and seasons, and we have tried to capture everything that this route is famous for — steam engines, the bridges and tunnels. While Kaushal walked his way from Kalka to Shimla to capture what the naked eye misses, Singh confesses, “I was a lot more laid back than Sanjay; I did not walk nearly as much.”

On what they’d like to change about what they saw enroute, Kaushal says, “I was in Shimla till Class 4, so, I’m obviously in love with the place. But something that irks me is watching people litter the beautiful railway stations.”

From Earth to Sky is on at Punjab Kala Bhawan, Sector 16, from April 19 to 21.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

RSS ideologue ML Khattar to be new Haryana chief minister

A first time contestant and a first time legislator, Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS) ideologue, Manohar Lal Khattar (60) was on Tuesday chosen as the leader of the BJP legislature group in Haryana assembly and thereby will be the next chief minister of Haryana.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved