HindustanTimes Fri,26 Dec 2014

Now, GMADA fixes quota for cricketers in draws for properties

Shailee Dogra , Hindustan Times  Sas Nagar, April 03, 2013
First Published: 11:58 IST(3/4/2013) | Last Updated: 11:59 IST(3/4/2013)

Sportspersons, especially cricketers have a reason to cheer, as they would get full benefits under the sports quota policy amended recently by the Punjab housing and urban development department.


With new policy, every scheme floated by Greater Mohali Area Development Authority (GMADA) would have reservation for cricketers. This is for the first time, when cricketers would get reservation.

A meeting of Punjab housing and urban development department was held recently, in which it was decided to extend the benefit of reservation under the sports quota to cricket players.

Any person, who has represented himself/herself in international cricket matches, one day internationals and T-20 matches would be able to avail reservation under the sports policy in every scheme

that would be floated by Greater Mohali Area Development Authority.
Apart from this, sportspersons, who have won in Olympics, World Cup and Asian Games as well as mountaineers who have climbed Mount Everest, would be given preference while allotting properties by the Greater Mohali Area Development Authority.

This would be followed by sportspersons, who secure first three positions in the Commonwealth Games, Afro Asian Games and Asian Games. 

As per the policy, a player has to be a resident of Punjab. The sportsperson applying should not have property/house in the district or should not have availed benefits under schemes launched by the government.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

The numbing conformity

What is the best antidote for seasonal active disorder (which is just a fancy name for winter blues): a party, of course! Well it is December, the party month; and as a testimony, all of us have dozens of invites sitting on our side table for attending a wedding, Christmas, New Year and not to forget a Lohri bash. Writes Seema Bedi
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved