HindustanTimes Thu,30 Oct 2014

PNDT Act: state govt reconstitutes board

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, July 07, 2014
First Published: 23:06 IST(7/7/2014) | Last Updated: 23:23 IST(7/7/2014)

The Punjab government on Monday reconstituted the state supervisory board for monitoring and implementation of the Pre-conception and Pre-natal Diagnostic Techniques (prohibition of sex selection) Act, 1994, under the chairmanship of health and family welfare minister Surjit Kumar Jyani.

Stating this on Monday, an official spokesperson said the state government was implementing the PNDT Act that provided for the prohibition of sex selection, before or after conception, and also for regulation of pre-natal diagnostic techniques for the purposes of detecting genetic abnormalities or metabolic disorders or chromosomal abnormalities or certain congenital malformations or sex-linked disorders.

The spokesperson said the principal secretary, health and family welfare, would be the vice-chairperson of this board. The principal secretary, women and child development, or his/her representative; principal secretary, social welfare, or representative; secretary, law department, or representative; and the director, health and family welfare, have been nominated as ex-officio members of the board.

Chief parliamentary secretary and MLA Navjot Kaur Sidhu and MLAs Sukhjit Kaur Shahi and MK Josh have been included as woman members in the board.

Social activist Dr VK Goyal; social scientist Dr DS Gill (retd); advocate Ram Lal Gupta; former MP Gurcharan Kaur; woman activist Satwant Johal; Dr Adarsh Sood, retired civil surgeon; gynaecologist Dr Rana Harinder; pediatrician Dr Tarandeep Singh Gambhir; Dr Jairoop Singh, vice-chancellor, Central University of Punjab, Bathinda; and radiologist Dr Raman Najawhan have been nominated as board members. 


comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

Modi’s reassuring touch for unnerved chief minister

The first signs of Prime Minister Narendra Modi doing hand-holding of the newly-appointed Haryana chief minister (CM) Manohar Lal Khattar were evident on Tuesday with the PM asking chairman of the Joint Intelligence Committee (JIC) in the union government RN Ravi to inspect the scene of crime at a bank which was burgled on Sunday night.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved