HindustanTimes Sat,01 Nov 2014

Power regulator imposes Rs. 1-lakh fine on PSPCL for faulty meters

Gurpreet Singh Nibber, Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, May 23, 2014
First Published: 12:17 IST(23/5/2014) | Last Updated: 12:21 IST(23/5/2014)

The Punjab State Electricity Regulatory Commission (PSERC) on Thursday imposed a penalty of Rs. 1 lakh on the Punjab State Power Corporation Limited (PSPCL) for its failure to replace defective meters in a time-bound manner.

The PSERC in its order on petition of 2013 has indicted the PSPCL by observing that non-compliance of “standard of performance” on the part of PSPCL “is not only due to the fault of individual officers, but is the result of overall defective and unscientific policy of the PSPCL regarding procurement of meters”.

The PSERC has also pointed that infor mation submitted by the PSPCL regarding the replacements was “sketchy and improper”.

The commission took suo motu notice of the fact that there are a large number of defective meters which need replacement; a detailed notice was issued to the PSPCL on March 19, 2013, asking why action should not be taken against it for not complying with the law and regulations.

The PSPCL had given an undertaking that it would replace all defective meters as per provisions of the supply code and the Electricity Act, but has failed.

PSPCL had claimed that there are 1.35 lakh defective or burnt meters as on March 31, 2013.

Of these, 48,555 meters were defective for more than six months and 41,366 meters for three to six months.

Even in its latest reply, the PSPCL submitted that there are more than 36,000 defective meters.

The commission observed that the delay “is not only harassing the consumers but has also resulted in revenue losses”.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

Viva la woman

Woman is indeed the best creation of God. One just has to look around to grasp the influence that women have on our surroundings. From home to office, from factories to the highest echelons of power, a woman does her work quietly and efficiently. Writes Kanika Dua Ahuja.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved