HindustanTimes Thu,23 Oct 2014

Pranav cruises into final qualifying round

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, July 07, 2014
First Published: 13:22 IST(7/7/2014) | Last Updated: 13:30 IST(7/7/2014)

Local lad Pranav Suri made a short work of Sumit Pal to enter the fifth and final qualifying round of men’s singles section in the ongoing AITA Men and Women’s Rs. 1 Lakh tennis tournament at the Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association (CLTA) complex, Sector 10, on Sunday. Suri defeated his opponent 8-2.

In the fourth-round matches of the same section, another city lad Param Pun thrashed Mridul 8-2, while Manjot Singh got the better of Aditya Chugal 8-3.

Basil Khuma ousted Nihit Rawal 8-2, while Jagrar Singh ousted Nasir Malik 8-4 to enter the final qualifying round. Also, Shrey Gupta beat Pradeep Panth 8-6, and Tarun Nath brought down Amit Chauhan 8-1.

Kamal Kishore and Dheer Anush Bhatt also entered the last stage of qualifiers by beating Ravinder Singh 8-5 and Calvin Golmei 8-6, respectively.

Digvijay Pratap, a trainee of CLTA’s rural tennis development program, CHART, also cruised ahead by getting the better of Mohit Bhardwaj 8-3. Sandeep Chaudhary defeated Gurjot 8-3, while Ankush Arora defeated CLTA trainee Rahul Seth 8-1.

Rohit Jain brought down Chinmay Chauhan 8-3, and Rakshit Rishi got the better of Yugal Bansal 8-6.

In the last men’s encounters of the day, Shivam Dalmia pipped Parth Dhall 8-5 and Rajanveer Dharni got the better of Aditya Vashisht 8-5.

In the women’s section, CLTA trainee Pious Mudgil faced a stiff resistance from Manpreet R Kaur before entering the final qualifying round.

Both the players matched each other shot-for-shot, and were consequently tied 7-7 all towards the fag end of the contest. The tiebreaker was enforced to break the deadlock. Here, Mudgil held her own to pocket required seven points, against four collected by her opponent, to win the match 8-7(4). In the other matches of the section, Rimpledeep Kaur brought down Silky Sachdeva 8-1, while Simran Wadhwa got the better of Sitara Sahani 8-0.

Shubhi Dviwedi also cruised into the last stage after thrashing Diksha Agarwal 8-4. Meanwhile, Saranya Khanna beat Prutiksha Bawedkar 8-3, and Deepshikha defeated Tanya Batra 8-4. Baani Singh brought down Nitra Deshwal 8-1, while Samriti defeated Preetnain Grewal 8-4. Also, Jyoti Manjunath and Aastha Malhotra moved into the final qualifying round after registering wins over Gurmehar Kaur (8-3) and Dhara B Thako (8-1), respectively.

In other encounters, Charvi Saxena got the better of Andita Mitri 8-3, while Sanya Sinha beat Aarushi Jain 8-5. Anukriti Chaudhary, Abhilasha Vishvanath and Dakshita Patel also registered victories to cruise ahead.

Earlier in the day, men’s third round and women’s first round qualifying matches were played.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

Education dept to hire consellors to tackle violence

Keeping in view the increase in violence at government schools in the city of late, the UT education department has started the process to hire 87 counsellors to provide help to students. ile 40 counsellors will be hired for senior secondary schools, the rest will be for high schools.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved