HindustanTimes Wed,22 Oct 2014

Punjab Lok Sabha poll nominations from tomorrow

PTI  Chandigarh, April 01, 2014
First Published: 19:07 IST(1/4/2014) | Last Updated: 21:21 IST(1/4/2014)

The process of filing of nomination papers for the April 30 elections to 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab will commence from tomorrow with the issuance of notification.


The filing of nominations will continue till April 9, scrutiny will take place the next day and withdrawal will take place till April 12 with the finalised contestants.

"Nomination fillings will take place from 11am to 3pm," official said.

He said, "All the candidates contesting will have to deposit security amount of Rs. 25,000 and Rs. 12,500 half of the amount will have to be deposited by the Scheduled Castes/ Scheduled Tribes candidates.

About 1.92 crore voters, including 90 lakh women, would cast their votes at 21,957 polling stations, 15,463 in rural areas, from 7 am to 6 pm on April 30.

Five constituencies of Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Bathinda, Ferozepur and Patiala have been classified as "expenditure sensitive" constituencies.

The other eight constituencies which will go to the polls are Khadoor Sahab, Jalandhar (SC), Fatehgarh Sahab, Hoshiarpur (SC), Anandpur Sahab, Ludhiana, Sangrur and Faridkot.

Of the 13 Lok Sabha seats, at present Congress has eight MPs, SAD four and its alliance partner BJP one.

The key Congress nominees named include former chief minister Amarinder Singh (Amritsar), Punjab Congress President Partap Singh Bajwa (Gurdaspur), Union Minister Preneet Kaur (Patiala) and Leader of Opposition in State Assembly Sunil Jakhar (Ferozepur).

BJP, which is to contest three seats has named senior party leader and Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley (Amritsar) and actor-turned politician Vinod Khanna (Gurdaspur).

Saffron party's alliance partner SAD has among others named Deputy chief minister Sukhbir Badal's wife Harsimrat Kaur (Bathinda) and senior party leader Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa (Sangrur).

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved