HindustanTimes Thu,21 Aug 2014

Raghav, Tista take top honours

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, July 03, 2014
First Published: 15:00 IST(3/7/2014) | Last Updated: 15:09 IST(3/7/2014)

Raghav Lall clocked 0.21.34 seconds to win gold in the 25m Freestyle event for under-8 boys, organised during the opening day of the subjunior and junior swimming competitions at the All Weather Swimming Pool, Sector 23, in Chandigarh on Wednesday.

The event is being organised by the UT sports department. While Lall was followed by Dhruv Gupta (0.21.90) at the second place, Parth grabbed the third place by completing the race with the timing of 0.24.82 seconds.

In the corresponding girls’ event, Tista Tewani prevailed over the rest to grab the top honour.

She clocked 0.20.60 seconds to cross the finish line. Nandini Singh followed the winner in the second spot with a timing of 0.21.83 seconds, while Inayat Sidhu and Kaavya Nayyar shared the third place with a timing of 0.25.01 seconds.

In the under-10 boys’ category of 100m Freestyle event, Rishi Nayyar emerged at the top with the timing of 1.25.52 seconds. The second place was claimed by Akshaj, who finished with the timing of 1.27.90 seconds, while Rayaan Grewal clocked 1.29.19 seconds to grab the third place.

In the under-12 age-group section of 100m Freestyle, Asav Kumar clocked 1.10.93 seconds to emerge champion among the boys. Dhruv was second with the timing of 1.18.36 seconds, while Adit Gupta claimed the third spot with the timing of 1.18.71 seconds.

In the corresponding girls’ event, Thwisha Gupta produced a timing of 1.17.06 seconds to grab the top honour. She was followed by Tishya Kapur (1.18.57 seconds) at the second spot, while Preena Kaur (1.22.51) finished at the third place.

In the under-14 boys’ 100m Freestyle, Samar Toor cruised to gold after clocking 1.02.58 seconds.

He was followed by Ritik Lall (1.14.50) in the second place, while Shubham Arya won the third place with the timing of 1.18.33 seconds. In the corresponding girls’ event, Jasmeet Kaur finished with the timing of 1.09.54 seconds to grab the top spot. Khush Noon won the second place with the timing of 1.16.95 seconds, while Simrat Kaur (1.19.32) occupied the third place.

In the under-17 boys’ 100m Freestyle, Tejinder Singh was first with a timing of 0.57.83 seconds.

While Mukesh Trar (1.00.83) claimed the second spot, Jastaran Toor finished third with the timing of 1.1.33 seconds.

In the under-10 girls’ 50m Breaststroke event, Samaira Guleria claimed the top spot with the timing of 1.04.53 seconds. Saher Cheema followed the winner at the second spot with the timing of 1.14.71 seconds, while Kaavya Indrayan clocked 1.15.05 seconds to finish third.

In the under-10 boys’ 50m Backstroke, Anhat Singh clocked 0.45.97 to win the top spot. Akshaj was second with the timing of 0.48.21 seconds, while Rishi Nayyar clocked 0.48.95 seconds to finish third.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

more from Chandigarh

Village on Facebook, like it

Facebook now is embedded so much into the psyche of the village youth that they cannot imagine life without it. There is not a boy or a girl who does not use this popular social-networking medium to share every moment of daily life, whether it’s going to the fields or riding the buffaloes into the village pond, or playing cards under the banyan tree. Writes Jinderjeet.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved