HindustanTimes Sat,30 Aug 2014

Sayed Mustaq Ali Trophy: Asnodkar’s knock helps Goa beat Haryana by 8 wickets

PTI , Hindustan Times   Rajkot, April 08, 2014
First Published: 19:07 IST(8/4/2014) | Last Updated: 19:11 IST(8/4/2014)

Captain Swapnil Asnodkar made an unbeaten 70 as South Zone toppers Goa beat Haryana by eight wickets in the opening match of the Sayed Mustaq Ali trophy here.


Goa skipper Swapnil Asnodkar won the toss and decided to bowl first and his bowlers gave good response to the skippers decision restricting Haryana on 116 for 9 wickets off 20 overs at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium (SCA) at Khandheri.

Goa chased the target losing only two wickets with two overs to spare.

Asnodkar lost his partner Sagun (3) early but added 73 runs for the second wicket with Suraj Dongre (29). Swapnil made a smashing 70 facing 59 balls with seven fours and a six.

He remained unbeaten with the company of Rohit Asnodkar (11).

For Haryana, Joginder Sharma and Kuldeep Hooda got a wicket each.

Earlier, after being invited to bat first, Haryana batsmen could not resist disciplined bolwing led by Gauresh Gawas.

Gawas did the early damage taking two wickets while skipper Rahul Dewan was run out after score one.
Only three batsmen could reach double digit for Haryana --Joginder Sharma (29), Rahul Dalal (25) and Sonu Rathi (unbeaten 13).  For Goa, L Garg took three wickets conceding 31 runs while Gauresh Gawas grabbed two for 28.

Brief Scores:- Haryana 116 for 9 off 20 overs (Joginder Sharma 29, Rahul Dalal 25, Sonu Rathi not out 13, L garg 3-31, Gauresh Gawas 2-28).  Goa 118 for 2 off 18 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar not out 70, Suraj Dongre (29)

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

more from Chandigarh

World Kabaddi Cup rescheduled to Dec 5-15

Punjab deputy chief minister Sukhbir Singh Badal on Saturday approved revised dates of fifth edition of World Kabaddi Cup on the proposal of the sport organisations from various countries.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved