HindustanTimes Mon,20 Oct 2014

Separate high court constitutional right of Haryana: Hooda

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, April 07, 2013
First Published: 19:35 IST(7/4/2013) | Last Updated: 08:33 IST(8/4/2013)

Haryana chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda has supported the formation of an all India Judicial Service.


The chief minister who was speaking at a conference of chief ministers of states and chief justices of high courts in New Delhi on Sunday said that a separate high court is the constitutional right of Haryana and can be realised by bifurcating existing premises, judges and staff of the Punjab and Haryana high court.

"This will not only answer aspirations of people in state but will also help strengthen the judicial system in Haryana," he said.

Hooda also demanded that the ratio of judges between the Haryana and Punjab in the high court be adjusted in keeping with the recent trend, which indicates that more litigation cases were originating from Haryana as compared to Punjab. 

"The trend must get reflected in the number of posts of judges assigned to Haryana. The current ratio of judges between Punjab and Haryana-60:40- should be changed to 50:50," he said.

The chief minister also supported the initiative of the national court management system and said that the state further support all efforts to create a national judicial data grid as part of e-courts programme.

Referring to pendency of court cases, lack of infrastructure in courts and the need to modernise systems, the chief minister said the state government was committed to implement recommendations of the previous conferences.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

Routed in north and south, INLD fails to make a mark in 13 districts of state

Haryana principal opposition party Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), which until Sunday had 31 legislators in the house of 90, is down by 12 seats in its third consecutive defeat in the assembly elections.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved