HindustanTimes Tue,23 Sep 2014

UT admin to demand 15-20 per cent more budget for next fiscal

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, February 11, 2013
First Published: 21:33 IST(11/2/2013) | Last Updated: 23:46 IST(11/2/2013)

To meet its requirements, the UT administration on Monday decided to demand a 15-20% increase in the budget, under the plan head, from the Centre for the 2013-14 fiscal.


In 2012-13, the administration received Rs. 737 crore under the plan head and expects nearly Rs. 120 crore more this time around. Last year also, the Centre had increased the administration's share by Rs. 185 crore, taking the total budget allocated to the UT to Rs. 2,916 crore.

This was decided in a budget review meeting, chaired by UT adviser KK Sharma at UT Guest House here on Monday, during which all the departments submitted their projected budget requirements.

Senior officials said a considerable part of the funds under the plan head would be used for health, urban development, education, transport, housing, science and technology, power and heritage conservation. Funds under the non-plan budget would largely cater to expenditure of salaries and other recurring expenses.

In the education sector, the administration will use funds for setting up of a new college in Manimajra and schools in southern sectors. In the health sector, the administration will use the money for a trauma centre in Sector 53 and for buying more buses to improve public transport.

After finalising budget requirements, the same would be sent to the union ministry of finance. This year, several departments failed to use the budget allocated to them. In the past also, the administration had failed to make full use of budget allocated to them.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

more from Chandigarh

After INLD, BJP names heavyweights, Cong likely to follow suit

Senior leader of the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) Abhay Singh Chautala, who won from Ellenabad in the 2010 bypoll is steering the party in the absence of his father and former chief minister Om Prakash Chautala and elder brother and Dabwali MLA Ajay Chautala.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved