HindustanTimes Tue,21 Oct 2014

Yuvi bounces back with Padma Shri

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times   Chandigarh, January 25, 2014
First Published: 21:52 IST(25/1/2014) | Last Updated: 21:59 IST(25/1/2014)

Indian cricket and cancer-awareness hero Yuvraj Singh is among this year’s winners of Padma Shri award on Republic Day.


He last played on the Indian team in the December 2013 five-ODI away series against South Africa and was dropped subsequently for the present tour to New Zealand. The explosive batsman was part of the Punjab Ranji Trophy squad in the semifinal defeat to Karnataka in January.

From being the toast of the country after a superlative run in the World Cup winning campaign in 2011, where he was man of the tournament, Yuvi was pegged back by cancer in the left lung. The 2012 Arjuna Award winner came back from painful chemotherapy in the US to play international T20 matches and world cup and get involved in cancer awareness and many charities.

Reacting to the Padma award announcement, Yuvraj Singh on twitter thanked everyone for the support. “Feeling happy and honoured to join the illustrious list… gratitude to the Government of India… a great motivation for me to continue to serve my country in cricket and in cancer awareness,” Yuvi tweeted.

His father, former India player Yograj Singh, also wished him all the best. “I pray all his wishes come true. He has the ability to achieve more and I am confident that he will,” he said.

Punjab deputy chief minister Sukhbir Singh Badal has congratulated Yuvraj Singh on his getting the civilian award and called him a great finisher.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
more from Chandigarh

Karnal MLA Khattar to be new chief minister of Haryana

Manohar Lal Khattar, a non Jat leader and a first time legislator from Karnal, on Tuesday was elected as the leader of BJP legislature group and will be sworn in as new Haryana chief minister. Khattar, 60, has been an RSS pracharak for the past 40 years and an active BJP member for more than 20 years.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved