Committee to mark 200th anniversary of Satguru Ram Singh

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Jan 30, 2016 10:45 IST

The Punjab government has formed a committee for state-level celebrations of the 200th birth anniversary of Satguru Ram Singh, the founder of the Sikhs’ Namdhari sect on February 12.

The 19-member panel includes 14 government representatives to be headed by chief minister Parkash Singh Badal, with cabinet members from the departments of industries, finance, tourism and cultural affairs, information and public relations and irrigation, a spokesman here said. Other members are Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, Avinash Rai Khanna, Prem Singh Chandumajra (all MPs), the state chief secretary, principal secretary finance, and the vice-chancellors of Guru Nanak Dev University and Punjabi University.

The non- gover nment members are Punjab BJP chief Kamal Sharma, Surinder Singh Namdhari, Ajit Singh Namdhari, Swaran Singh Virk and Prof Balbir Singh Kapoor.

also read

Arvind Kejriwal, Capt Amarinder engage in war of words on Twitter
Show comments