Cong seeks e-surveillance of polls in Fatehgarh Sahib | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong seeks e-surveillance of polls in Fatehgarh Sahib

punjab Updated: Feb 19, 2015 00:02 IST
Ketan Gupta

Alleging that the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) indulged in booth-capturing in the previous council elections, Congress MLA Kuljit Singh Nagra on Wednesday demanded electronic surveillance of the February 25 polls here through cameras in the booths.

Fatehgarh Sahib is a volatile town politically, having its MLA from the opposition Congress and MP from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Nagra said that in the previous council elections the SAD’s workers forced people the vote in their favour, which “resulted into great loss for the Congress and unfair elections for the town”.

He even said that the party was willing to pay for e-surveillance system, “We will give a detailed presentation to the district electoral officer on this.”


Meanwhile, battling infighting, SAD observer Santa Singh Umaidpuri said any party worker trying to betray the party “will not be spared at any cost”. SAD spokesperson and state education minister Daljit Singh Cheema announced expulsion of three party workers, one each from Khamano, Mandi Gobindgarh and Sirhind, contesting against the party candidates.

SAD expels 24 more rebels, BJP shows 10 the door

The ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) on Wednesday expelled 24 more rebel candidates in the fray in the Punjab civic polls.

Party president Sukhbir Singh Badal decided to expel the rebels for contesting against the official party candidates, SAD spokesman and secretary Dr Daljit Singh Cheema said here.

The SAD had on Tuesday expelled 43 rebels, while the BJP had thrown out 58.

The SAD rebels expelled on Wednesday included Charanjit Kaur, Major Singh, Jaspal Singh and Vikas Ram (all from Sanaur municipal council); Varinder Kaur and Kulwant Singh from Nabha; Jatinder Kaur from Rajpura; Ranjit Singh Karwal, Harjinder Singh Karwal and Darshan Singh from Adampur (Jalandhar); Bhura Singh and Jasmer Kaur from Budhlada; Gurpreet Singh Peerkot, Rajdeep Singh Kala and Gamdoor Singh from Chaoke (Bathinda); Shamsher Singh Shera, Bhupinder Singh Happy and Randhir Singh Dhira from Jandiala Guru; Harpal Singh Grewal and Mulakhraj Singh from Raikot; Phool Raj Singh and Amiteshwar Kaur from Mohali; and Pardeep Singh Batra and Manjit Singh from Phagwara.

The BJP expelled 10 more rebels on Wednesday, including seven from Nangal in Ropar district and one each from Patiala, Amritsar and Sangrur.

The rebels expelled from Nangal are Baljit Kaur, Chanchala Sharma, Shobha Rana, Balwinder Bali, Praveen Dwivedi, Rajinder Hans and Anu Prabhakar.

The others are Pradeep Sharma (Patiala), Arvind Sharma (Amritsar) and Budh Ram (Sangrur).