Cong workers implicated at Babbehali's behest: Bajwa | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong workers implicated at Babbehali's behest: Bajwa

punjab Updated: May 06, 2012 18:59 IST
Kamaljit Singh Kamal

Congress MP from Gurdaspur, Partap Singh Bajwa, on Sunday accused local SAD MLA Gurbachan Singh Babbehali of getting the opposition party's supporters implicated in false cases due to political vendetta.

Citing alleged examples of such vendetta cases, Bajwa told a meeting of district Congress leaders who had contested the last assembly elections at Panchayat Bhavan here that Powercom officials had disconnected power supply to a petrol pump of Rajinder Trehan in Gurdaspur at the behest of Babbehali, since Trehan had supported Congress nominee Raman Bahl from Gurdaspur assembly seat.

Similarly, the Congress leader alleged, several false criminal cases had been slapped on Goht Pokar village sarpanch Harjinder Singh on flimsy grounds just to please Babbehali.

Babbehali however denied the charge, claiming that Trehan was caught stealing power while Harjinder was in jail for criminal activities.

It was learnt that Bajwa spoke to Gurdaspur circle superintending engineer on phone about disconnecting of power supply to Trehan's petrol pump and warned that if power was not restored by Monday, he would lead a sit-in and rally of Congress workers outside the SE's office in Gurdaspur.

Bajwa said that Congress MLAs from Gurdaspur would soon meet Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh in Delhi to apprise him of the alleged atrocities perpetrated on party workers by police and civil administration at the behest of ruling SAD-BJP leaders.

Meanwhile, district congress committee (DCC) president and Dera Baba Nanak MLA Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa said that he had sent a block-wise list of party leaders and workers who had opposed official Congress candidates in assembly elections in Gurdaspur and Pathankot districts to Punjab Congress president Capt Amarinder Singh for expelling them.

Congress MLAs Tripat Rajinder Singh Bajwa from Fatehgarh Churian, Charanjit Kaur Bajwa from Qadian and Aruna Chaudhary from Dina Nagar and party candidates who lost the last elections, namely Balwinder Singh Ladi, Raman Bahl, Balbir Fatehpuri, Raman Bhalla and Vinay Mahajan also attended the meeting.