Congress expels 27 rebels | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress expels 27 rebels

punjab Updated: Jun 09, 2012 15:12 IST
HT Live Correspondent

After waiting for a long time, the Congress finally expelled 27 of its rebels on Friday. The step has come late as these rebels have already damaged Congress candidates in their respective wards.

Following the recommendation of the District Congress Committee president Pawan Dewan and party observer and Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) vice-president Laal Singh, 27 rebels were expelled.

The Congress leadership had tried a lot to bring these rebels back to the party fold, but all attempts proved futile. However, insiders believe that the Congress took the decision a bit late as it was the last day of campaigning on Friday.

Dewan said many attempts were made to bring the rebels back to the party fold. "However, after all attempts failed, the rebels were expelled."

The names of the rebels who have been expelled are Gurdeep Singh, Dev Raj, Rakesh Kumar, Sukhdev Bawa, Baljit Kaur, Kulwant Singh, Sardool Singh Grewal, Ashwani Sharma, Rajesh Jain, Hardial Gumber Prince, Ashok Kumar Virmani, Baljinder Singh Sandhu, Raj Kumar Sood, Krishan Kharbanda, Ajay Walia, Robin Bajaj, Ashok Thapar, Mukesh Kumar Lamba, Harish Kumar, Gurmail Singh Mela, Brij Mohan Sharma, Kulwant Sidhu, Ravinder Singh Syan, Dharminder Vicky Gypsy, Tarakki Lal Thapar, Raj Kumari and Hans Raj.