Congress reduced to drawing room politics: Kamal Sharma | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress reduced to drawing room politics: Kamal Sharma

punjab Updated: Feb 27, 2015 21:57 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

The defeat of the Congress at the hands of SAD-BJP nominees in the elections to municipal councils, corporations and nagar panchayats has proved that the Congress has now been reduced to mere 'drawing room politics' and lost its grip among the electorate not only at the Centre but in Punjab too.

This was stated by Kamal Sharma, state BJP chief, while addressing a press conference at his residence on Thursday after meeting BJP-SAD winners of Ferozepur municipal council.

"Instead of doing anything constructive for the welfare of the people of the state, the Congress leaders including Captain Amarinder Singh, PPCC chief Partap Singh Bajwa and Rajinder Kaur Bhattal are busy only in issuing 'contradictory statements' daily. The century-old party has been dragged to a position that it was not possible for the party leaders to find candidates for the civic body elections and at many places, it failed to filed its nominees, said Kamal Sharma.

Replying to a query over the differences between the SAD and the BJP during the civic body polls in some parts of the state, Sharma said there were differences but they were resolved soon by convening joint party meetings. And, now presidents and vice-presidents of various councils will also be appointed after consultations with the SAD leadership.

'Any party rebel, who won as an Independent in the polls will not be taken back to the party fold without taking into confidence the local unit of the party,' announced Sharma.

'The matter of victory of a large number of Independents in the MC polls will be considered seriously to ensure better coordination between the alliance partners in the next general polls in the state," said Sharma.

The BJP, Sharma said, will elect its mayors at Pathankot, Phagwara and Hoshiarpur while the SAD will have its mayors in Moga, Mohali and Bathinda. The support of Independents would be taken at Mohali, he added.

Sharma, who was accompanied by BJP leader Ashwani Grover and YAD leader Mahinder Singh Virk, congratulated the 19 BJP and six SAD nominees, who secured victory in the Ferozepur MC. It is for the first time that the BJP has secured majority in the Ferozepur MC house with 19 conucillors. Six councillors belong to the SAD, two to the Congress and three are Independents.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature