Deposits of 18 out of 22 candidates forfeited | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Deposits of 18 out of 22 candidates forfeited

punjab Updated: May 17, 2014 18:55 IST
Tarsem Singh Deogan
Tarsem Singh Deogan
Hindustan Times
ravneet singh bittu

With voters not showing belief in majority of the 22 Lok Sabha candidates from Ludhiana, deposits of 18 candidates, including those of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Communist Party of India (M), have been forfeited.

According to norms, Lok Sabha election candidates have to deposit `10,000 with their nomination forms. To get the deposit back, each candidate should get one sixth of the total valid votes.

With total number of votes polled in Ludhiana being 10,48,716, only candidates receiving at least 1,74,786 votes were eligible to receive the deposit back.

As a result, only four out of 22 candidates - Ravneet Singh Bittu of Congress; HS Phoolka of Aam Aadmi Party; Manpreet Singh Ayali of Shiromani Akali Dal; and independent candidate Simarjeet Singh - qualified to get their deposits back.

Of the remaining 18 candidates, Navjot Singh Mandair of BSP, got the maximum 8,317 votes. Two independent candidates Rajiv Kumar Kalra got 4,653 and Gurdeep Singh Kahlon got 4,509, more than the 4,167 votes polled for CPI (M) candidate Sukhwinder Singh Sekhon.

Independent candidate Kulwinder Pal Singh figured last with 986 votes.

Even None of the above (NOTA) option got 3,220 votes, more than those of 12 candidates.