Despite boycott call, 2 BJP members attend coronation ceremony of MC chief

  • Ketan Gupta, Hindustan Times, Fatehgarh Sahib
  • Updated: Apr 20, 2015 22:35 IST

Showing clear sign of a divided house, the district Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) two senior leaders on Monday attended the coronation ceremony of the Sirhind municipal council chief despite direction from the senior party leaders to boycott the event.

The presence of former district BJP president advocate SN Sharma and former Mandal president Hari Shankar Aggarwal even surprised the Shiromani Akali Dal leaders present during the ceremony.

Pertinent to mention that earlier one of the BJP councillors Ashok Dhiman had voted in favour of SAD candidate Tirlok Singh Bajwa for the MC chief's post despite clear directions from the party to support BJP candidate Ashok Sood. Both the BJP and SAD camps had 11 members each, and Dhiman had changed the course of election by voting in favour of Bajwa.

However, advocate Sharma said he had not received any information regarding the boycott and had attended the ceremony in his personal capacity.

Mandal president Manoj Gupta said, "We have asked the high command to take action against Ashok Dhiman." He said he would inform the senior leaders and recommend suitable action against the defaulting party workers.

also read

World’s shortest woman launches campaign against female foeticide
Show comments