Dinanagar attack: Punjab Police head constable gets Prez police medal | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Dinanagar attack: Punjab Police head constable gets Prez police medal

punjab Updated: Jan 25, 2016 21:33 IST
HT Correspondent
Punjab Police

Punjab Police head constable Ram Lal has been awarded the President’s police medal for gallantry on Republic Day, for his role in the terror attack on the Dinanagar police station last year.

Six people —a superintendent of police, two home guard personnel and three civilians — were killed in the attack that shook the country in July last year.

A Punjab Police spokesman said Lal, posted at Gurdaspur, had shown exemplary courage by taking on the terrorists.

Tarn Taran senior superintendent of police (SSP) Manmohan Kumar Sharma and 12 other police officials have been awarded the police medal for meritorious service, the spokesman added.

The 12 cops are: Inspector (adhoc) Dara Singh of Punjab armed police (PAP) Jalandhar; PAP sub-inspector Tara Singh, posted at Punjab police academy, Phillaur; sub-inspector (SI) Balkar Singh, PAP Jalandhar; SI Gian Singh, office of ADGP armed battalion, Jalandhar; SI Mangal Singh, Ludhiana Commissionerate; SI Jagdish Kumar, in-charge CIA, Bathinda; SI Prem Dass, vigilance bureau, Jalandhar; assiatnt sub-inspector (ASI) Bhupinder Singh, provisioning wing, Chandigarh; ASI Rajinder Singh, CID training school, Chandigarh; ASI Sohan Singh, CID unit of Punjab police in Chandigarh; ASI Suresh Kumar, Ludhiana, and ASI Gurmail Singh, Bathinda.