Disqualify 24 Punjab MLAs for being parliamentary secretaries: AAP to EC

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • Updated: Jun 30, 2016 17:42 IST

With the sword of disqualification hanging over its 21 Delhi legislators over the issue of office of profit, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has approached the Election Commission, seeking similar action against nearly 45 legislators of the BJP, Congress and Shiromani Akali Dal, holding similar posts in other states.

In Punjab, the AAP has sought disqualification of 24 legislators for holding posts of parliamentary secretary (called ‘chief parliamentary secretary’ in the Punjab), of which five are of the BJP and the remaining 19 belong to the SAD. Its complaint said the total number of parliamentary secretaries in the state had gone up to 24 “in violation of Article 191 of the Constitution”.

Also read | In election-bound Punjab, Khalistan buzzword again

Party units in Punjab, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, and Madhya Pradesh have made similar complaints to respective state chief electoral officers. Early this month, the President denied assent to a bill for immunity to the AAP parliamentary secretaries from disqualification.

also read

AAP vows to end liquor mafia in Punjab, promises tax relief
Show comments