EWS students’ enrolment : UT forms 3 panels | punjab$chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

EWS students’ enrolment : UT forms 3 panels

punjab Updated: Feb 01, 2016 11:15 IST
Aneesha Bedi
Aneesha Bedi

The UT administration has constituted three committees to check enrolment of economically weaker section (EWS) students in city private schools in the upcoming academic session.

Assistant estate officer-cum-sub-divisional magistrate (SDM) Prince Dhawan said: “SDMs will conduct inspection in schools in their respective areas.” Sources in the education department said the inspections would begin this week so the process could be completed before February 24, the last date for admissions.

The inspection teams have been asked to file reports of physical verification regarding total number of seats in school with proof and reasoning as to how the number has been decided, enrolment in school along with relevant account statement of tuition fee, enrolment in the EWS category along with proof of each child admitted. The inspection teams have also been directed to see that schools were complying with the RTE Act.

Some city schools which were under the scanner for violation of the RTE Act were issued notices under Rule 20 of the Chandigarh Leasehold of Sites and Building Rule, 1973, which pertains to the violation of the allotment of land to educational institutions on leasehold basis.

These include Shishu Niketan Model Senior Secondary School, Sector 22, Shishu Niketan Model School, Sector 8, Strawberry Fields, Sector 26, Ashiana Educational Society, Sector 9, Kids R Kids International Educational Trust, Sector 42, Stepping Stones School, Sector 38, St Xavier’s Education Trust, St Kabir Public School, Sector 26, Ryan International School, Sector 49, DAV Public School, Sector 8, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Sector 27, and Ajit Karam Singh International Public School, Sector 45.