Fresh faces dominate Congress list; 24 women in fray | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Fresh faces dominate Congress list; 24 women in fray

punjab Updated: May 25, 2012 12:54 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

After the BJP, the Congress has also opted for a number of fresh faces to contest the Amritsar municipal corporation (AMC) polls scheduled for June 10. The list of candidates for all 65 wards of the AMC, prepared by Rana KP, PPCC vice-president and observer of the party for Amritsar, was released in Chandigarh on Thursday.

Only two of the 20 sitting councillors of the party have been re-nominated. They are Ranjan Aggarwal, leader of the opposition in the house, and senior leader Raman Bakshi. The Congress has also given the ticket to two independent councillors, Surinder Chaudhary and Mamta Dutta.

Sitting councillor and former mayor Sunil Datti, who represented Ward No 2, was not given the ticket as he had opted not to contest after having contested the last assembly polls. Likewise, sitting councillors Gurjit Singh Aujla and Navdeep Singh Goldy, who had been in contention for the assembly polls, were also not considered as they had opted not to contest.

Among the 24 women candidates, all, barring Mamta Dutta, are fresh faces. Some of them are wives or relatives of sitting councillors who have been given the ticket from the wards reserved for women.

Section of Congmen threatens revolt
The Congress list of 65 candidates for the Amritsar Municipal Corporation (AMC) polls scheduled for June 10 has sparked off a protest from a section of the party workers.

Reacting to the list, city Congress leader Pardeep Saini said the party's state-level leadership "seems to have succumbed to pressure from leaders who had worked against the interests of the party in the last assembly polls".

Talking to HT here on Thursday, Saini claimed that the claims of genuine and sincere Congress workers who had applied for the ticket had been ignored.

Saini, who had recently threatened to revolt against the party leadership, said that on the assurance of the state leadership they had decided not to revolt against the party. However, the leadership seemed to have paid no heed to their grievances, he added.

He said the disgruntled leaders of the party would meet in a day or two to decide their course of action for the MC polls. He did not rule out the possibility of forming an independent group and putting up candidates in some of the wards where they felt the Congress had made a wrong choice of candidates.

No nomination filed
Amritsar deputy commissioner cum returning officer Rajat Aggarwal on Thursday said no nominations were filed on the first day for the 65-member Amritsar municipal corporation.

The elections to the MC are scheduled for June 10. Aggarwal said the last date of filing the nominations is May 29, which would be followed by scrutiny on May 30 and withdrawals on May 31.

SAD announces second list of 3 candidates
The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) on Thursday announced three more candidates for the Amritsar Municipal Corporation (AMC) elections scheduled for June 10.

The candidates announced were Anita Kumari, who has been fielded from Ward No 15, Ajit Lal from Ward No 16 and Ranjit Kaur from Ward No 32.

With this, SAD has now announced the names of 25 candidates for the AMC polls. It had announced 22 names in the first list released on Wednesday.

SAD is contesting 27 seats while its alliance partner, the BJP, will field candidates on 38 seats in the 65-member AMC.

List of congress candidates

Ward No Candidates
1 Raman Bakshi
2 Mamta Dutta
3 Surinder Chaudhary
4 Dharampal Laddi
5 Kamal Preet Kaur
6 Harjinder Kaur
7 Ram Sharan
8 Ranjan Aggarwal
9 Nirmal Bawa
10 Rajkanwal Pritpal Singh
11 Kanwal Kumar Sharma
12 Dalbir Kaur
13 Vishal Sharma
14 Paramjit Kaur
15 Gurjeet Kaur
16 Tirlok Singh
17 Balwinder Kaur Sahota
18 Gurmeet Kaur
19 Varundeep Singh
20 Narinder Pal Kaur
21 Sandeep Gorsi
22 Naresh Saini
23 Mitanjali Sharma
24 Dharam Singh
25 Iqbal Singh Sheri
26 Rama Mahajan
27 Kanwal Bhatia
28 Randeep Bhagat
29 Navtej Singh
30 Pinderjit Kaur
31 Baba Gurmukh Singh
32 Harjas Kaur
33 Surinder Singh Kanda
34 Amir Singh Ghuri
35 Kulwant Singh
36 Bhupinder Singh Bittu
37 Deepak Kumar
38 Gurpreet Kaur
39 Navjeet Singh
40 Pargat Singh Dhunna
41 Jasbir Kaur
42 Kanwal Arora
43 Sunny Kundra
44 Monika Tuli
45 Dharamvir Sharma
46 Mahesh Khanna
47 Neena Kapoor
48 Naresh Kumari
49 Kanwar Rajinder Singh
50 Rajeev Duggal
51 Kiran Kundra
52 Sanjeev Tangri
53 Vijay Bhalla
54 Parminder Kaur
55 Shawinder Singh Satt
56 Parmod Babla
57 Sarabjit Singh Latti
58 Ravi Kant
59 Balbir Singh Sonu
60 Surjit Singh
61 Baldev Singh
62 Rakesh Kumar Rinku
63 Shivani Kaher
64 Purshottam Pal
65 Parmod